How To Finish Aluminum In The Garage?

dogma

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have a small, unimportant, aluminum part that I would like to cosmetically protect against being splashed with cutting fluid. The part is in no way critical but I would like to go about this the "right way" as a learning excise. I have no previous experience with finishing aluminum and I am not particular about the type of top coat. From what I have read, aluminum requires more consideration than the mild steel I am used to dealing with. However, my garage is not yet a super fund site and I would prefer it to stay that way.

Options that I have identified.
  • powder coating - it seems that this may be acceptable to apply to bare metal aluminum? I do not have powder coating equipment but this seems doable on a small scale. The primary health hazard is inhalation of fine dust. Of course, for a one-off I would have a local finisher do it.
  • enamel, epoxy, urethane, etc. top coats - it sounds like all of these need to be applied over "primed" surface that has been anodized or chromate converted (alodized)?
  • ceramic coatings - do these need a conversion surface prep? Media blasting seems to be recommended. I don't currently have a blast cabinet or a high CFM compressor to drive one. They mostly (all?) seem to use MEK as a thinning agent. I'm not thrilled about spraying high concentration MEK but this is tolerable with a respirator and bunny suit.
  • anodizing - toxicity isn't bad but I'm not thrilled about the potential for acid bath fumes to cause corrosion. My main hesitation is needing to store the bath chemicals.
  • chromate conversion (alodizing) - not exactly thrilled about handling potentially hexavalent chromium... I looked at a few SDS' and they pretty much only list chromic acid but this is probably in the strong NO WAY category.