Help with making this two piece part

Archer60x

Registered
Registered
Hello, i am new to machining. My PM728VT is on order. I have a long term goal to make parts like this one that i designed. I am not sure if this kind of part is one i should start on.

It would be a lot easier to make if i did it in two parts and bolted them together. You can see if i make it two parts i run into this 1/4 20tpi threaded hole. I cannot move the hole.

Anyone have recommendations on how to make this two piece's then attach them back together?

The final part will be 6061 aluminum. The longest dimension is 3 inches.

My idea is once i have the two piece's. I combine them into one with aluminum screws with loc tite (not sure what kind yet). Then drill and tap that 1/4" 20tpi hole after the two pieces are connected together. THis way i and drilling and tapping into all aluminum (since the fastener will be aluminum).

Any other ideas or a better way of doing this part?

Thanks!
Chad

1702903808721.png
1702903817423.png

1702903799355.png

Looks like you'd have room for one or two 1/16" dowel pins for alignment (one to each side of the threaded hole you're trying to avoid). Then add a threaded hole in the clear area above it for a screw and you should have two pieces that assemble well.

Since you're designing these parts, you may find it worthwhile to make the large external radius either a faceted shape, or eliminate it altogether. If it really needs to be as shown, you can do it, but it will seem like a lot of extra work for that one feature.

Congrats on the new machine!

GsT

Thanks Gene! Yeah i do have room for pins then a fastender at the top.

Good point on the radius. I planned on using rotary table, but faceted will work until i get better at those kinds of operations. The top of the radius is the only important part. I can leave the bottom squared off.

Chad