Help me pick a good cordless drill

Chip

Active User
Registered
Greetings!

I need to get a good cordless drill. One that I can use for carpentry as well as metal. My original Craftsman from back in the day had good power, high and low speed settings, and reasonable battery life, but it is now too old to justify buying new batteries for. I went with an newer model some time back but discovered that a full charge would not get me through even a short day of moderate use, and the power was marginal at best.

I have been told that Makita And Milwaukee are good choices, but I have no first hand experience with either brand.

I'm thinking that $100-$200 might be a good budget for something well-made and durable. Anyone here with first hand knowledge of a model I can pick up today on Zoro? (25% off + free shipping)

Also, I might be interested in something a bit more costly if it will get me a considerably higher grade of tool, as well as the possibility of instead getting a multi-tool package so long as the included drill meets my criteria.

Add that it would be an infrequent-need/project-based item, and therefore it might be left unused for long periods of time...if that is a concern.

Thanks!

I switched from a Dewalt drill when I dropped it to the Milwaukee 18v line. I now have 8 or 9 tools and 4 batteries. So far so good and half of the tools were purchased reconditioned. I also have a Milwaukee 12v grease gun that beats a Lincoln any day. The batteries seem to last a long time and tools are powerful. The vacuum I have eats up a charge quickly but even the circle saw last a long time. Had a Porter Cable and the circular saw wouldn't last but a few rips on ply new. Two of the the batteries are 3 years old, used all the time and still seem to be as good as new.

Milwaukee M18 Fuel Brushless