G0768 Chuck modification

vincent52100

Registered
Registered
Has anyone come up with a mod to make changing the chuck on the G0768 any easier. If you have one you know a chuck change can be a pain. I’m wanting to change between 3 jaw, 4 jaw and ER40 chucks. If your hands are not steady it can be frustrating. Thanks.

I don't have that kind of lathe, so I'm no expert. One thing I might suggest is to find or machine a shaft whose outside diameter is close to the spindle bore - tapered to match if necessary . Mount the shaft in the chuck jaws, so that it sticks out the back of the chuck a couple of inches. This should assist in getting the chuck centered, as well as helping support the weight, when you're aligning the studs on the back of the chuck with the backplate holes. Alternatively, you could put the shaft into the spindle bore and slide the chuck over it. Can't think of anything else useful. The chuck mounting method is not the simplest in the world, is it?

You should be able to find/make a board that fits over the ways (protecting them) and is just about the right size to hold the chuck high enough for the chuck to fit onto the spindle.

Look up search top right corner on making a chuck cradle including mine "make a chuck cradle"

You should be able to find/make a board that fits over the ways (protecting them) and is just about the right size to hold the chuck high enough for the chuck to fit onto the spindle.

The problem is reaching the nuts. It’s very tight for my finger. Also you need to cock the chuck to start the nuts.

OK, got it. Here's something that might help. You can probably retain a nut inside the box end with a piece of duct tape until the threads take hold. Or maybe use a putty knife to hold the nut against the end of the stud.