First milling machine

jpfabricator

Active User
Registered
Can anyone give me some suggestions for a first time milling machine? I have a 9x20 lathe and would like to purchase a mill, Im wondering what would be decent. I plan on upgrading the lathe to a 12x36 as soon as posible. I have no experience with a mill and very little with a lathe. would a good used machine be better that a new import? Any info would be greatly apriciated

Hi JP,

This sounds a lot like where I am right now. So many choices and opinions and no next door neighbor to ask. I'll be following this closely.

Are you looking just at new machines or considering used as well? There has never been a whole lot of manufacturing around here to the used choices are few and far between.

Dale

My first DECENT mill was an old USA made Burke #4 horizontal. Small,but it was rigid enough to actually mill steel with. I had to have the table recut on both the top and underneath,dovetail included. It had 1
"T" slot,which had been tightened down so many times that the table took a downwards slight bow. The metal in the T slot gets compressed over thousands of bolts being tightened,and bows the table. Table was something like 4" X 18"-ask Nelson. He has 1.

It is impossible to recommend anything new or old. Old depends upon condition. Look up UNDER the table,and see if the scraping marks(IF there ever WERE any) are all erased. Place an accurate steel rule down the length and check for bowing.

If you can find a TAIWAN made mill,it is a lot better than made in China.

I made a simple power feed for the Burke. If you could find 1 that still has the original,it would be great. There was also a simple vertical head made,though I never found one for mine. The guy who bought it did find 1 somewhere. I'd LOVED to have had it. A vertical mill is much more useful than a horizontal. Remember this-VERTICAL IF POSSIBLE.

A lot more info would help ---