First mill/drill help

drcrea

Registered
Registered
Beginner here. I'd like to be able to machine small parts in both aluminum and steel. Space is at a absolute premium in my shop, as in I have none, and so I'm considering swapping my drill press for a mill/drill. I only have space for something that is ~24" wide and ~28" deep (or smaller) and mobile so under 250lbs or so. I've been looking at small 13/14" mill/drills. Its my understanding that these small mill/drill combo's aren't the best for serious milling, but for learning and making small parts, I'm assuming it should fit my needs. I've been looking at something like this:

But under a different brand (seems this make/model is sold under different brands) as I can get one at a reasonable price ~$2200.00

Are these machines any good? Or should I be looking at something different in this size and price range?

I had a little grizzly square column mill very similar to that one . It was fun to learn on and play with but hindsight I wish I would’ve saved my money and bought a full sized knee mill from the get go. I quickly outgrew the little bench mill. Just food for thought, I have nothing against the smaller machines but the truth is they are very limiting. I guess it really depends on what your goals are, if you’re doing nothing but small model stuff and don’t need the ability to work on larger items then it may be perfectly fine. Good luck to you whatever you decide!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk