[Newbie] First Machine Ordered...buying Tooling And Accessories...advice And Help Me Not Forget Anything

0110-m-p

Registered
Registered
So I put a deposit down on my first machine (Precision Matthews PM25 mill) and am wanting to go ahead and order most of the tooling and accessories I will need to take off running before the machine gets here (I was told that it should arrive at my door mid-May). My goal here is to list out everything I am planning on buying to get feedback on A) if it is a decent purchase to start with and B) if I'm forgetting anything that I really should have.

A little back ground first. I have machining experience and am not a complete newbie (definitely not extremely experienced though), but I have never owned my own equipment. I am a mechanical engineer and work professionally in product development, but my hobbies primarily revolve around my RX-7 race car and 3D printing (design/build/use). Currently I fabricate pretty much everything I make for my race car with a 4" bench vise, hand drill, hacksaw/sawzall, angle grinder, pneumatic cut-off tool, and a TIG welder. Anything that has needed true machine work has been outsourced to a local shop. All this is getting a bit old and is the primary reason I decided to bite the bullet and start my own little home machine shop. Mill is first, but lathe will follow within a year.

Anyways, here is what I have on order from QMS...

- Precision Matthews PM-25MV milling machine
- Milling vise (precision ground 4" w/ swivel base)
- 52-piece clamping kit (3/8"-16 threads)
- 11-piece R8 collet set (0.0005" precision grade)

And here is what I am planning on buying (hopefully some of it today with the Enco 20% off coupon)...
- Dial test indicator (0.0005" graduations | 0-15-0 range | Enco import "premium quality")
- Edge and center finder kit (4-piece | Enco import)
- End mill set (20-piece | TiN coated HSS | Enco import)
- Parallel set (10 pairs | 6" long, 1/8" thick | Enco import)