End mills.. need help.

negatronix

Active User
Registered
Hi,

I'm new to machining, and have a question regarding end mills.

I am looking at purchasing a Grizzly go755, which comes with a spindle adapter R-8 x MT#3.

My question is this. Do I purchase a set or R-8 collets or R-8 endmill holders to hold the endmill, and ball endmill tools. If not the collets, what are collets used for?

Sorry for the total newbie question, I am just getting started with all of this and have zero experience.

Thanks, -Kory

If it has a r8 spindle I would just buy r8 collets. Any adapter is going to take up some of your work height. Yes collets are for holding tools on a mill and they hold stock on a lathe

If you can afford it I would also buy both styles of end mill because I prefer to hog out material with the ball ends and the finish the surface with a flat once I get close to the finished measurement. I seem to have better luck clearing large quantities of chips with the ball nosed than I do with the flats. The flat and Ball nosed sets are available at HF for about 80 bucks each for a pretty complete set and if you have coupons you can have a pretty decent set of both for around a hundred and twenty bucks easily. That's what I did and those bits are good enough for a beginner to figure out what they are doing without ruining a high dollar bit making a newby mistake. Welcome to our little gang and I hope you find everything you are looking for and the knowledge you need to get going. If you ever need help or have an issue all you need to do is start a thread or ask a Mod. We are here to help and provide assistance when and where we can.

Bob

I have only ever used the R8 collets for my work. The only end mill holders I have are for end mills whose shanks are too large to fit any of the R8 collets.