ELS Project - spindle position read-out

Wheat.Millington

Registered
Registered
I'm a complete beginner machinist - I've wanted to learn home machining for some time, so finally bought myself an import lathe. Because it doesnt have a quick change gearbox I decided before buying it I wanted to do Clough42's electronic lead screw. I've done the board, encoder and display, but waiting on my bank balance to recover before getting a stepper/controller/power supply. So in the mean time I dug into the code and set up an option to show me the absolute spindle position. I don't know how much utility this really has, but it was a fun little project.

One thing I haven't figured out is a spindle brake, which would increase the usefulness of this set up. However for basic jobs, as shown, it's enough on my lathe to stick it in low gear to hold the spindle steady-ish.

Attachments

• Spindle.mp4
    47.1 MB
I have a g0602 with Clough's ELS. When you say "spindle brake", are you referring to the resistor braking of VFD or a mechanical brake?

Interesting and complicated first project.

Welcome to the group!

-brino

I have a g0602 with Clough's ELS. When you say "spindle brake", are you referring to the resistor braking of VFD or a mechanical brake?
My lathe doesn't have a VFD, it uses a mechanical gearbox. There is no braking system on my lathe at all, but it takes pretty reasonable pressure to move the spindle by hand in the lowest gear (90rpm). I'd like to implement some kind of mechanical brake directly on the spindle at some stage.