Deciding On A Lathe...

zboss86

Registered
Registered
Hey guys, new to the forum...
I work with hot rods and various projects a good bit as a hobby in the evenings. I do a good bit of "simple" fab work, mainly welding and such. I'm new to machining. For some reason, I've just now ran upon this forum. I see a lot of good info, so I'll be doing some research.

I'd like to acquire a lathe sometime in the near future and maybe a mill later next year.
I was leaning towards an older American style lathe rather than a newer foreign lathe. But I need to learn more so I know what to look for. I'm guessing Craigs list is a good place to start looking.

I'm thinking a 13 x 40 would be a good size(suggested by a local fab shop, he said that would be the minimum), but I may could get by fine with a smaller lathe. I'll be mainly making the occasional spacer, bushing, and I'll need to cut some threads from time to time.

I saw this one... I'm not jumping on anything yet, I'm in no rush.
http://memphis.craigslist.org/tls/5234809437.html

hmm,
Hopefully no one here will scoop you on that lathe. That is a very good price assuming the ways and spindle bearing are in good shape.

From the hobbyist perspective, a 13 x 40 is a really big lathe, and is about the upper limit for folks around here. Plenty of them on this forum, not a lot bigger than that though.

There are many pros and cons between an old domestic lathe and a new import. There are also many pros and cons between a smaller lathe in the 9" range, and a bigger lathe in the 14" range. Bigger is better in general, but tooling for a bigger machine can give you a heart attack when you check prices. The price difference between a 6" chuck and a 10" or bigger chuck will make you cry. You can pretty easily spend more on a 10" 3jaw chuck than the lathe you listed is selling for. You can always use smaller and less expensive tooling, but then why own a big lathe and little tools?