Decent DRO (read: reliable, but not wallet-busting) for 14x40 lathe?

jaychris

Active User
Registered
I've got a Jet GHB-1440. I'm mulling over putting a DRO on it. I've gotten along well enough so far without, but I can think of some things that I do that would be faster with a DRO. I'm not looking for Return-On-Investment here - I'm a hobbyist so I'm in it for the fun, not to recoup my costs... :)

At any rate, looking for some pointers or recommendations on a DRO that won't break the bank, but still be reliable/accurate.

I was sort of looking at this guy, but I don't know much about "DRO PROS":

http://www.dropros.com/DRO_PROS_Lathe_Digital_Readout.htm

I've got a Grizzly 1440 (G0709) and am interested in a DRO as well. My milling machine has a DRO and they're great. I've heard good things about DRO Pros and will probably go with them. They're pretty easy to get on the phone and will answer email.

I bought a DRO from Dropros several years ago & I've been pleased with it.

I bought a DRO Pro unit ( 2 or 3 years ago) for my mill and am 100% happy with it. I am going to buy one for my lathe for my birthday. :))
schemer

I have a 3 axis DROPro unit on my mill. If my lathe ever needs a new DRO it will be a DROPro unit. I have had mine for 2 years and it has been excellent. Their service and tech support is and has been superb.

Randy

Great thread, as I also want a DRO for the lathe (and the mill too) and have been looking at the DRO Pro ones for a couple of years now. From all the digging their prices are about as low as you are going to find for a new unit (not including the little caliper sliding ones). Now that I get to see others posting that have bought and used them I feel a lot more comfortable about dropping the money on one. Just need to do a bit more saving :)

the DRO-Pros looks great and I hear nothing but good things about both the product as well as the company/support. unfortunately at ~$1k it was just out of reach for my hobby use.