Bison 5C Chuck on a D1-4 Backplate

David2011

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
The guy that sold me his 11x26 Grizzly lathe said that he couldn't adapt a 4" Bison 5C collet chuck to his Precision Matthews 1236 which has a D1-4 chuck. He has good machining skills so there must have been some obstacle he didn't like although when I asked he couldn't remember what was the problem. He offered the Bison chuck to me at a price too good to pass and the backplate for it was in the Grizzly's toolbox so I've been using it for a couple of years now. This chuck is about $1000 US so I would really like to use it on the lathe I recently bought which has a D1-4 spindle.

After looking at all of the respective dimensions I can't see why the 5C chuck couldn't be mounted on a D1-4 back plate similar to this one but not necessarily this exact one. Can anyone see a problem? https://www.amazon.com/CME-Camlock-...09443957&sprefix=d1-4+mou,aps,127&sr=8-3&th=1

No reason why it couldn't as far I I know . What does the back of the Bison look like ?

The back of the Bison is pretty straightforward. It has a 2.76” diameter recess to register against, easily larger than the through bore of a D1-4 back plate. It has 3 mounting screws near the O.D. that enter through the front. Photo from the Bison website.

Attachments

• F8489998-1548-4DA8-A43E-6C561B3E4FBD.jpeg
    F8489998-1548-4DA8-A43E-6C561B3E4FBD.jpeg
    45.7 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:
I put one on a D1-6 backplate - can't think of any reason it wouldn't work unless the mounting holes simply could not be aligned without interfering with a camlock post - but that's hard to imagine.

GsT

ETA: IIRC, I paid $300 for my Bison 5C chuck from J&L a "few" years ago. Can't believe they're $1k now.

Based on the description and the picture, my guess is that it is a flat 5" back and will mount to whatever adapter you buy separately.

The Bison page does have an "Ask about product" button. I would ask the source directly.