Biax not cutting smooth

Lucas E

Registered
Registered
I am new to scraping and just got a biax 7 ELM. My scrap marks are not looking as smooth as I feel they should and I need some help diagnosing the problem. I'm running a 6" insert type blade with a sandvik scraping insert ground at 60 mm radius with a 5° negative take. Are the blades not polished to a high enough grit? Too slow a speed? Not enough force? Any help would be appreciated. I'd love to take the Richard king course however not sure when the next one close to Oklahoma will be.

This was just a strip I ran across the table to show what I'm seeing in my cast iron parts
PXL-20210324-180924710.jpg

Last edited:
60 degree? Where? A picture close up of the insert would be helpful, generally, the insert should have a radius on it's cutting face, with the corners rounded off somewhat to avoid digging the corners in and scratching. The surface should be machined off before scraping. The non insert type (brazed on) cutters work more smoothly due to the greater flexibility of the shanks, and the inserts should be finely polished/ground. Speed, indeed does make a difference, also stroke length.

Something to give scale to the scrape marks would be helpful.

Are you sure that material you are scraping is not steel? Also, you should be scraping with the radiused sides of the insert, not the flat sides.

All 4 sides are radiused at 60 mm. The table showing the marks is steel, but I just used that to take a nice picture. I'm seeing the same design in cast iron as well.

Last edited: