Beginner Milling Necessities

Bray D

Registered
Registered
I did some general searching, but didn't like the results I was getting so I thought I'd post up a fresh thread. I know there's a sticky regarding "useful milling tools", but that list is quite extensive and compiling all of those tools would take years for a garage guy like myself.

I'm new to home machining, as I currently have my first machine tool en route to my place. I opt'd for a Precision Matthews PM-932M mill/drill and I'm looking for some tooling so I can start making chips.

The first order of business for the machine will be getting everything tramming true. I can handle sourcing the indicators/holders/etc.

I ordered a vise, collets, and a clamp set with my machine, but I currently don't have any cutters on order. I don't have a chuck or a dedicated drill bit set either (my hand drill bits are less than ideal, so I may as well upgrade while I'm looking to spend some money).

Cutters:

My first real project will be making aluminum fixtures for my fab table. From what I've read, 2-3 flute center cutting end mills should work well. Any advice regarding material, spiral, etc. for cutting aluminum?

Chuck:

I need a chuck too. Jacobs is the name that I frequently hear/read about, but man are they expensive! I did some more research and found that Glacern Machine Tool has some keyless chucks that are more in my price range. Any advice regarding keyed vs keyless? Any reviews on GMT tool holders or suggestions for other manufacturers? My machine has an R8 taper, for what that's worth.

Drill bits:

I'll be using them mostly with mild steel and aluminum. Is high speed steel sufficient or should I opt for cobalt or coated bits? Any thoughts regarding 118* vs 135* drill angle for a general drill bit set?

Additional tooling:

An edge finder is on the list as well. Is there anything else I absolutely need to get started?