Another person asking "What should I buy for a milling machine"

zonk2

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone, I am about to purchase a used milling machine, such as a Bridgeport OR buy a new CNC milling machine, such as a Tormach. I have only up to $7000. to spend and I am in Canada, so that limits me somewhat.
I have some experience will manual milling and also with writing basic G-codes. I know that I can get a heavier machine if it is a manual mill, but I would like to get into CNC. None of the things that I will build will need to be done
fast.
Would it be better to buy a used Bridgeport from Craiglist, or similar site for around $5000 or pay another $2000 on a new or newer cnc milling machine.

I like to be able to make something on a whim on my manual machine. Personally I think a manual machine is way more fun. Programming is a major buzz kill for me. My 2 cents.

I like to be able to make something on a whim on my manual machine. Personally I think a manual machine is way more fun. Programming is a major buzz kill for me. My 2 cents.

I agree.

He didn't say what he planned to do with the mill. If he plans on running short to medium production of repeatable jobs I think a CNC would be best.

IMHO, its best to run a manual machine quite a while before considering CNC. Remember CNC just turns the handles, you have to already know how to machine.

Also a Bridgeport will hold or increase in value over time.

in that case, get something with and CNC control AND handwheels. Best of both worlds. I'm not really hip to which controls are decent, and/or allow manual machining, but they're out there.

32-cnc-vertical-mill-bridgeport-proto-trak-1.jpg

Hi everyone, I am about to purchase a used milling machine, such as a Bridgeport OR buy a new CNC milling machine, such as a Tormach. I have only up to $7000. to spend and I am in Canada, so that limits me somewhat.