Acetone vs Isopropyl Alcohol

SouthernChap

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
So, last year when I got my little 7x14, I did the inevitable strip, degrease and clean (and all the other things, natch).

Having by this time, watched a fair few Blondihacks videos, I gravitated to using acetone for the degreasing.

When I was in my workshop, yesterday, I noticed I still had most of a 5l container of IPA (no, not India Pale Ale; there'd be no chance of that lasting in my household!:grin:) up on a shelf.

Now, IPA was what I used to use for cleaning and degreasing mechanical parts of flight sim peripherals (joystick gimbals, pedal mechanisms, etc) before I realised I was a terrible sim pilot, both rotary and fixed wing and stopped enjoying myself.

I don't think I've noticed any significant difference in cleaning and degreasing performance between IPA and acetone, although maybe I've not got to the limits of one or the other's capabilities.

So finally the question: can anybody offer any good reason, other than personal preference or habit, for using acetone over IPA, or indeed, IPA over acetone?

(Bonus points for people that answer using their BSc/MSc/PHD or industrial chemist's knowledge to provide a senior high school level answer; which is, as far as chemistry goes, where my capabilities end ;))

I'm a chemistry dummy. If IPA is same same as 100% denatured alcohol you should be good. As a side note, if that alcohol's been sitting with the seal broken, it may have attracted moisture from the air. Not good.
Re-reading what I just typed you better wait for @pontiac428 to show up.