• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Untitled 1

    As promised, a formal announcement has been made regarding recent changes in the administrative staff here at H-M.

    Please take a few moments to go to our home page and review that announcement.

[4]

3 Phase Motor Troubleshooting?

[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

markba633csi

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
1,440
Likes
634
#31
Higher ohm readings than I predicted but all very similar, looks Aok to me- Randy I think your problem is something else
Mark
 

RandyWilson

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
249
Likes
190
#32
Could the higher resistances be because it is wired for 480V?
 

Technical Ted

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
239
Likes
282
#33
Can you come up with a safe way to connect the motor (fully assembled) to your source 3-phase to eliminate any other circuitry/components? If it runs OK connected directly, then you know the motor and source are OK and the trouble is someplace else. If it doesn't run OK, it's either the motor or the source...

Good luck,
Ted
 

randyjaco

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
729
Likes
220
#34
Can you come up with a safe way to connect the motor (fully assembled) to your source 3-phase to eliminate any other circuitry/components? If it runs OK connected directly, then you know the motor and source are OK and the trouble is someplace else. If it doesn't run OK, it's either the motor or the source...

Good luck,
Ted
Well I got it running. I pulled the motor and cleaned everything up. There was some black crud on the rotor (like burnt grease). I put it all back together and hooked it up directly. It now runs. The downside is that it seems to have minimal start up torque. The bearings are good and everything turns super easily, almost no friction. But when I turn the motor on, I get a buzzing sound for about a second, then it spins like a turbine. I plan to use a VFD on it. Any recommendations for settings to make it start up faster and minimize the buzz?

Thanks
Randy
 

Technical Ted

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
239
Likes
282
#35
If you look at your VFD manual are there any setting you can tweak to help? Or, can you test it some how on a true 3-phase power source to see how it performs then? 3-phase motors are fairly simple devices, so you might want to verify your source of power isn't causing what you are seeing.

Ted
 

markba633csi

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
1,440
Likes
634
#36
Randy may be correct- it may have been rewound for a higher voltage, hence the low torque on your lower voltage supply. That might be the reason for the epoxy coating too.
What I would do is collect some winding resistance information for 440/600 volt motors vs. 220 and see if that explains the 6.5 ohm readings you got. Also put a clamp-on ammeter on each leg and see if it jives with the nameplate amps.
Mark S.
 

Technical Ted

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
239
Likes
282
#37
Can you contact the person you got the machine from and see what voltage it was run on when they owned it? And how they ran it, whether a VFD or true 3-phase?

Ted
 

randyjaco

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
729
Likes
220
#38
The motor plate said 220. The previous owner never got it running and God only knows where he got it from. Just judging from what I saw tearing it down, I believe I am the first person since the factory to see the inside of that motor, but anything could have happened.

Thanks
Randy
 

Technical Ted

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
239
Likes
282
#39
Well, you would like to think that if someone was to professionally re-wind a motor for a different voltage that they would re-mark/re-stamp the motor data plate.

Ted
 

randyjaco

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
729
Likes
220
#40
I would agree. I also know from taking a similar motor to a motor shop, that having a motor rewound is an expensive proposition. They wanted nearly a Grand to do mine.

Randy
 

RandyWilson

H-M Supporter - Premium Member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
249
Likes
190
#41
I have a mill with a very clean looking three phase rewire that retained all of the original two phase plates.
 

4gsr

HM Shop Superintendent
Staff member
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
4,484
Likes
2,788
#42
Put the motor back together and take it to your local favorite motor shop and have them check what voltage it runs on. Lets hope it is 230 volts. If it runs on 460 volts, you will know for sure it is. They shouldn't charge just for doing that I wouldn't think.
 

markba633csi

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
1,440
Likes
634
#43
Only hitch is that he'll have to bring the whole machine to them, the motor is part of the frame.
Maybe the motor shop could just tell you based on the ohm readings what voltage it is expecting...
Mark
 

randyjaco

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
729
Likes
220
#44
Mark is right. I would have to take a @500 pound 1hp to the shop. The jointer is direct drive. The motor and the cutter head are all the same assembly. Hence my concern for the motor. I can’t just toss the old motor and replace it with another. If I could I would have instantly replaced it with a single phase motor and ya'll never would have known that I had a problem ;-)
Randy
 
[6]
[5] [7]