123 blocks

mwooten

Registered
Registered
Hey guys. I'm a bit of a rookie and bought some 123 blocks. The threaded holes are 3/8-16. The non-threaded holes are stated as 5/16. They measure .351??
My question is how is one suppose to bolt them together in various configurations? If the answer is not suppose to then what are the holes for?

Thanks in advance for your help
--Mike

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1-2-3 blocks are one of the first projects we made in 11th grade machine shop class... And I have used that pair ever since.
The ones we made to print called for .500 holes all the way through for sliding over a stud. Looking back I really wish I had made that set with the holes and some threaded holes to bolt them together. Guys make their own all different ways... I have even seen guys put small T slots in them for certain jobs.
You can make them for more functions that just blocks. The sad part is that once you harden them and finish grind, There is only so many modifications you can make to them.

Hey guys. I'm a bit of a rookie and bought some 123 blocks. The threaded holes are 3/8-16. The non-threaded holes are stated as 5/16. They measure .351??
My question is how is one suppose to bolt them together in various configurations? If the answer is not suppose to then what are the holes for?

Thanks in advance for your help
--Mike

Mike,

Give this thread a try ... http://www.hobby-machinist.com/showthread.php?t=4811&highlight=Blocks and this one
http://www.hobby-machinist.com/showthread.php?t=6173&highlight=Blocks

Arvid

I don't have any studs smaller than 1/2" so I never bothered to check. I currently only have one set of 123 blocks, unknown make & COO but I'm pretty sure they're China.

Quoting some content from the threads you linked....