10" Atlas rebuild

iron man

Active User
Registered
10" Atlas rebuild

I Am finally in the home strech of finishing my Atlas lathe mods and rebuild. I modified the tailstock so I now have 3 1/2" of travel along with a DRO. I rescraped the ways to straighten them back to perfect after years abuse from previous owner. I was self taught on the scraping and was very happy with the results. I modified the carriage and planed the surface so it has more surface contact.

I then set in and made stronger adjustable gibs using brass and steel the tolerance on the bed is now very tight but glides up and down the bed. I have all new Acme screws on the tailstock, carriage and lead screw. I also have a direct read dial a brass compound nut that is twice as long as stock I plan on some other mods later. I have remade some gears as they wear out or go bad and I have a 2 1/2 horse DC variable speed motor thanks for looking.. Ray

100_0638.JPG

- - - Updated - - -

100_0640.JPG

The carriage and tailstock leadscrews are now supported with ball bearings that doubles as a thrust surface. I repainted it hammertone gray.

- - - Updated - - -

100_0641.JPG

I repainted the badges and made a box to house the variable control.

- - - Updated - - -

100_0642.JPG

Here is the DC motor lot of power there.

- - - Updated - - -

100_0639.JPG

I repainted the legs as well I have a few more ideas to improve this lathe I do it just for fun and because I can. All mods are reversable and I have a drawer full of good Atlas parts I keep all the parts for the next guy but I am not done with it yet.. Ray

- - - Updated - - -

100_0627.JPG

Here is the carriage getting resurfaced along with a brass plate added for more surface contact.

- - - Updated - - -

100_0632.JPG

Here are the new gibs they stregthen the carriage and the brass slides down the castiron real nice.

- - - Updated - - -

100_0619.JPG

Here is the new chrome barrel I made for the tailstock it is about 1 3/8 longer.

- - - Updated - - -