Wilton Verti-Lock Vice Quality?

Hozzie

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I was given a Wilton 1280N 8" vice with rotating base. It says it's made in Taiwan. I can't find any real reviews of them or much on if they are decent vices. It's a bit large for my 9x42 Bridgeport, but if it is a decent vice I may just use it instead of getting a 6" vice which seems to be the better size for the mill. I am not taking it on and off, so not worried about moving it a lot, but it is certainly heavy.

Anyone have anything good or bad to say about them?

i-6pZ5snq-X2.jpg

If the price is attractive, and you want an 8", go for it.

I have no direct experience but my reasoning is:
It looks in good shape.
It's badged by a very reputable vise company.
My guess is it's an exact (as legal) copy of a Kurt.

The price was right, it was free :). That's the real question, is an 8" vice just really too big for a smaller Bridgeport.
IMO, absolutely too big.

Sell it or trade it for a 6" or 5" or 4" (if you primarily do small work).
So far, you're way ahead on this deal.

I've been using an identical vise with the Palmgren name minus the swivel base on my 1 1/2 hp Bridgeport for over 20 years. It's heavy to move around, but easy to use and accurate as far as being square. It's the go to vise for most things.

I also have a 6" Bridgeport I use with the swivel base. It doesn't get used nearly as much as the 8"

I used an 8" Kurt vise on a BP mill with the 48" table for several years. It worked very well. If you don't intend to take it off and on the mill, the size really doesn't make much difference and you can certainly hold work pieces in the 8" that you can't in a 6". Personally I would remove the swivel base, mount the vise, get it dialed in as perfectly as you can and just leave it in place.
Ted