PM 4-Jaw Chuck

MWCurl

Registered
Registered
Hey Guys

I have a PM 1340GT lathe. I need a 4-jaw chuck to do some close work threading a barrel for a suppressor. Does anyone have experience with the high precision 4-jaw chuck sold by PM? I will also welcome any other comments or advice regarding purchasing a 4-jaw. Thanks.

Mike

I cannot speak to their 4-jaw but I bought a 3-jaw set-tru (made by Chandox) from PM with my 1340GT. I later bought a Bison 4-jaw and Bison 3-jaw set-tru. I still do all my chambering and muzzle threading with the Chandox with no runout.

If their precision 4-jaw is like the Chandox it's a good chuck.

I have no experience with PM's chucks but since you have a D1-4 mount, any D1-4 chuck will fit and you have many options. I am partial to Pratt Burnerd chucks now and here is an 8" 4 jaw that the seller says was "recovered oiled in its wrappings". I take that to mean it is new and the chuck indeed does look new. It is a PB International so it was made in England. The mount is not specified but it is a D1 mount of some kind. I can't tell for sure but it is either a D1-3 or D1-4; you will need to contact the seller and have him measure the spacing on the pins to be sure. If it is a D1-4 then I suspect you can get it for a decent price but you'll have to bid on it. Currently, this chuck sells for $425.00 from PBAmerica and if it was me I would rather have the PBI chuck from ebay. You will need to factor in shipping from the UK but if you can get this chuck anywhere under $325.00 it would be a good deal.

Nice chuck and as good a lathe chuck as you're likely to find.

I prefer 3-jaw and 4-jaw chucks with 2-piece jaws to allow for the use of soft jaws.

I have the PM 4-Jaw chuck and have successfully chambered several rifle barrels with it. It works fine and I am able to get runout less than .0002".