Making your own engraving V bits?

Defender92

Registered
Registered
So I got a free New Hermes pantograph on Facebook marketplace a few months ago. I got hooked on engraving. Now I have a few engravers, many master fonts, two edgers and I’m considering buying a New Hermes bit sharpener locally.

I learned you can pick up these machines locally for super cheap or even free. eBay prices seem crazy.

I’ve been buying 1/8” V bit cutters from bitsbits.com for $15 each. I found 1/8” tungsten carbide rod online for $12 per foot.

This got me thinking about making my own bits to save some money and shipping time.

Has anyone done this before?? I’m thinking of cutting the end of the bit flat with an end mill on my Bridgeport. Then turning the angle on the end with my lathe. Then finishing it on the New Hermes bit sharpening machine.

Thoughts? Any better ideas? I’ll admit, I’m an amateur on the Bridgeport and I’m concerned about getting the rod cut to exactly center. I don’t have a DRO.

IMG_7049.jpeg

Normally this is done on a D-bit grinder. The New Hermes models I've seen are adorable but might not be up to the task.

The Shars model seems like a good overall value with decent quality control. Stay away from the yellow models on eBay. They have such an assortment of poorly chosen features and their documentation is so limited that you're unlikely to find success.

I use a cutoff wheel to make blanks. Then split the blank with a cup wheel. Use a micrometer to gage your progress. Then cut the conical tip, again with the cup wheel. The rest is standard procedure.

I have been using resin-bond diamond wheels for carbide