Bambu Lab X1 Carbon Combo 3d Printer....about to buy one

Forty Niner

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
I have no experience with 3d printers and I am going to change that.
So what do you think about the Babbu Lab 1 Carbon Combo 3d Printer that is now on sale?

I bought one in November, along with the AMS. I've used it allot to make useful shop accessories, tooling, prototypes, toys etc.
It really is plug and play using models downloaded from thingiverse, among other sites.
If you're able to design in CAD such as Fusion360 you can print your models directly.
One thing I've experimented with is alternate filament. I've been using sunlu purchased from Amazon, it works and is much cheaper.
Joe

My kid has one, bought it after futzing with an Ender 3 Pro. The X1 Carbon just prints, no futz...

I use one at work to print fixtures and jigs for the factory.

It’s fast and rarely screws up. Setup is simple and the AMS makes changing filament super easy.

I’d give it two thumbs up:encourage::encourage:

John

I've had one for a while now.

The good: great printer - prints very fast, accurate, handles most materials well.

The bad: Bambu says it won't print TPU - though some owners report differently. You won't learn the ins-n-outs of printing because it's all automagical. If you store PLA in the AMS (filament feeder) and it's idle for a while it will break off inside and you will have to disassemble the AMS to get it out. It's not hard, but it's a pain, especially because you only discover the problem when you're ready to print something... I've learned to unload PLA between uses.

GsT

Thanks for the replies and shared experience. What other accessories should I put on my order? The accessories are discounted if ordered with the printer.

Maybe an extra build plate. A coworker’s friend has one, and I have not heard about any issues so far.