Any user feedback about recent experiences with the Precision Matthews PM-1022V lathe?

cneuor

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I’m a novice machinist, and while waiting for my PM-1022V lathe to arrive, I’ve been researching its potential issues. A 2017 review raised concerns about the machine’s cross-slide travel, digital tachometer precision, and power in the upper RPM range. The review mentioned that switching change gears is necessary to access the upper RPMs—can anyone confirm this? It also stated that the lathe lacks enough power at higher RPMs to use carbide tools, limiting it to high-speed steel tools.

For those with recent experience, what challenges have you encountered, and are these concerns still relevant?

Thanks for your input!

I'm responding to this post rather than the others that led this one, but some of my answer are in response to questions asked in the other posts just to keep my thoughts in one place.

I've ended up with mostly vintage machinery, but I'm a chronic overthinker and am very prone to analysis paralysis. I watch my spending closely and really hate spending money and then finding out I bought the wrong thing so I went down many rabbit holes in choosing my machines. I've looked at a lot of machines in the 9" and 10" sizes.

I personally think 10x22 (ish) is a very practical size for many home shop hobbyists, but I've also come to appreciate there is no one size fits all. My "big" lathe is an 11x24, and I do the majority of my work on a little 3-1/2x17" lathe (one of the few I have that was bought new).

I wonder if there is a better machine of the same size that is in the same price range.

Most small lathes make compromises.