Which lathes to consider

skeptonomicon

Registered
Registered
I am new to machining, but have some exposure through friends and work. I am planning on buying a LATHE in the <$2000 range (with additional reserve for tooling), but need advice to help narrow down the selection. To give you an idea of the kind of things I anticipate building, I have already decided that my first project is going to be building a gyroscope similar to what was shown on Clickspring YouTube channel. I was originally going to by a Sherline, but thanks to advice on this forum, realized it was probably too small to make such an object. I am now considering a Grizzly, Precision Matthews, and still considering the Sherline with risers. My requirements are to turn a 4 inch disk, to be at least 16 inch between centers, and to be a bench lathe. I also don't want to spend a lot of time correcting manufacturing problems or dealing with customer service, so I am looking at reliable brands. Being a complete novice, I won't necessarily recognize any issues with the lathe, and I won't be able to fabricate any parts to fix it, so I want to avoid no-name or generic imports. My question is, which brands other than the ones mentioned should I be considering. Any advise in this area will be appreciated.

Last edited:
Then, you are not going to want anything made by Atlas! Welcome to the site!!

Welcome. Sounds like you want to stay small. Is it because of limited space or you like to make stuff on the small size? I'm going to suggest that you check out Little Machine Shop. I own a LMS 3960 (an upgrade to the 3990). It's a solid machine. I've also have had very good service from them. They also sell a tooling package that will help you get started and even save a little money.