What Type of Parting Blade?

karlsangree

Registered
Registered
Newbie alert!

I am brand new to machining and recently purchased a 1942 South Bend Heavy 10. I converted the tool post from the original rocker/lantern style to a Shars AXA wedge type.

I really need some help selecting the parting blades for it. I foolishly thought to myself, "Just go to Amazon and order a couple." However, I didn't realize there were so many sizes and styles, and now I'm confused. Amazon has widths from 1/16" to 1/4", lengths in 3", 4". 4 1/2", 5", and 6", and styles that I have no clue about such as P1, P1N, P2, P3S, P3W, P5, P5X, and P6 and all those styles come in either HSS or Cobalt, and in Cobalt, there is 5% and 8%.

Amazon's choice (not that I put a lot of stock in that) is a 1/8" x 1/2" x 4-1/2" 5% Cobalt P3S Style.

I'm so confused... Any help would be much appreciated.

Shar's universal AXA parting blade holder:
202-9426ca.jpg

Keep it simple . An Iscar holder can be used in any size toolholder and will accommadate multiple blades as well as insert blades .

I’m partial to M42 cobalt parting blades
I turn stainless constantly, the cobalt blade works wonders
I like 1/8” thick for most operations, but i have thinner and thicker blades for different jobs

Before ordering one, find the height range possible with the your tool holder and tool mounted on your lathe. You need to have the cutting edge close to the center line of the part to cut properly. Have some additional area with the tool holder/blade combination for reaching different depths of cut with the cutting edge on center with the work. Shimming up the tool holder to the working height can lead to a less solid mounting...