What do I need to know about machining titanium

eac67gt

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hey guys, titanium is one metal I have always stayed away from or actually never needed to machine for any project. I recently have been asked to do some parts in titanium. What tips and or secrets do I need to know about this metal. I will be cutting, turning and milling it so tell me all you know. :))

Thanks guys and have a great day!

Ed

It work hardens easily and in my experience you need to use carbide tooling.

Dont let chips build up. Clean often, and if it does combust, dont throw water on it

Keep the cutter(s) moving, carbide works best for me. Mills pretty nice. Absolute pain in the as* to drill.

I'm no expert, I've just made a few compensators for 1911 style competition guns in it.

Bill
P.S. never heard of titanium chips catching fire. Now magnesium is a different story...

Do Not use TiN coated tools. It will stick to them.

Oh, yea. Forgot that part. Learned that one the hard way. If I'd just have thought about it for a sec...

Bill

Your right. I dont now why I had magn in my head
Keep the cutter(s) moving, carbide works best for me. Mills pretty nice. Absolute pain in the as* to drill.

I'm no expert, I've just made a few compensators for 1911 style competition guns in it.

Bill
P.S. never heard of titanium chips catching fire. Now magnesium is a different story...

I drill Ti with carbide drills when I can as but it can drilled with cobalt too as long as you use the appropriate speed & feeds. I use high positive carbide inserts on the lathe for Ti, the finish is very nice. Nothing beats flood coolant when machining Ti, especially when drilling. I haven't used my flood coolant systems yet but I get by most of the time by just blowing air. Just be sure to watch the heat & keep your cutters sharp.

never heard of titanium chips catching fire. Now magnesium is a different story...

Your right. I dont now why I had magn in my head