What Can I Expect From A Long Hss End Mill--

Bob V

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi,
Today I was milling some 6061 aluminum with a 3/8"diam, 4" long two flute HSS end mill. I was plunging into the aluminum to a depth of 1.250" The first plunge was a partial cut (basically off-center enlargement of a previously drilled hole). This went just fine-- the hole after plunging was about .380" in diameter.
Next, I plunged (not enlarging another hole- plunged right into a flat surface) into the same piece of aluminum with the same end mill to a depth of .750", and the hole diameter turned out to .450"?!?

I'm a beginner at all of this--
I expected a larger hole with the 4" long end mill-- but I thought it might be 3-5thou over the diameter of the end mill-- especially using HSS on aluminum. My mill has maybe .002 runout four inches down from the spindle- so I know the .075 increase in the size of the hole over the end mill diameter is not just runout from a long mill.
Question: is this the kind of thing I can expect from a long end mill? Very unpredictable?!?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Bob

Even a center-cut end mill will not hold size all that close under those conditions. If you need a flat bottom hole on or near(er) to size, you should break it into 3 ops. Spot or center-drill, drill near depth (watch your point depth), then plunge the end mill. With aluminum, be sure and clear the chips often and use some lube like kero or WD unless you run flood. Mist is ok, but deep holes do better with oily lubes, IMO.

My mill has maybe .002 runout four inches down from the spindle- so I know the .075 increase in the size of the hole over the end mill diameter is not just runout from a long mill.
Question: is this the kind of thing I can expect from a long end mill? Very unpredictable?!?