What Are The Top Brands In Electrodes For Dc Arc Welding?

Best brand of stick electrodes?

• Esab

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Lincoln excalibur

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
O

ome

Forum Guest
Register Today
Hi Everyone,
I finally decided to get a miller thunderbolt
Xl 225/150 ac/dc welder.
This is my first welder, so which brand would be the best to start with for basic practice on flat horizontal surface, just laying the beads inbetween the two surfaces.
1/8" e 6010 and e 7018.
Which would be the easier to strike an arc for a total newb?

I'm no expert but when I took a welding class they started us with 6011 for DC and 7014 for AC. With 1/8" rod we used about 120 amps +/-

7014 on AC is almost too easy - just drag the rod and you're welding. A great way to get the feel of the process and then switch to 6011 or similar to get technique.

YMMV

Stu

Hi Ome,

IMO 6010 is an easier rod to start and keep lit. it is used for root passes and on dirty/poor fit up metal.
we used the drag & whip and we like it that way!!! lol
with an inverter welder you'll be dragging small "Z's" with it , a short arc
i have seen demonstration of small overlapping ovals as a technique too.
6010 is an all position rod that burns deep and can be used as "cutting rod" if you turn up the dial and use a sawing motion when the arc starts melting metal away. it's very crude, but very quick!

7018 is often used for everyday welding in all positions.
it has an iron power flux that lends very nicely to weld unknown grades of steels and their alloys.
in other words it's the go to rod for arc welding.
in a lot of welding operations like pipefitting and structural welding a rod like 6010 is used for root passes to simply join the sections,
then a rod like 7018 is used for the binding, higher strength, welds.

i have burned my share (and probably someone elses too) of Lincoln E7010- a higher tensile strength(70,000 psi vs 60,000 psi in e 6010)
when i welded for a spell as an ironworker.