VFD question

cgcwmec627

Registered
Registered
My Burke millrite mill machine has two 3 phase motors,one for the mill head drive and another for the quill drive.
The more I use VFD on my other machines the more i like them.
My question is this,I want to put a VFD on my Burke and I assume that I would need two,one for the head and another for the quill.Is that correct?
I am not an electrician,so I could use some experienced advice.

Attachments

• 20231122_094440.jpg
    20231122_094440.jpg
    316.8 KB · Views: 13
The way I understand it is that you can but since the VFD needs to be setup for a motor both motors would need to have the same specs.

No, One VFD attached to your input power terminals is good, as long as it is rated for to exceed the requirements of the largest motor. You can run many different sized motors of a VFD as long as you don't exceed the rated amperage.
There is one issue that will appear. If you vary the cycles per second from 60 for control of cutting speeds, you will have mag switches dropping out. The control transformer off one leg of the 3 phase is used to knock down the voltage from 208 to 110 for the mag switches. Transformers need 60 cycles and so do the power feed motors for the table.
What I did for one I converted, was I disconnected the high side of the xformer and fed it single phase 220 volts from the VFD supply and then all was happy. If you machine does not use a transformer and instead uses 110 throughout, the same applies. You need separate unvaried cycles to feed the control relays and the feed motors. This is not hard to do, if you can wire in a VFD, you can easily isolate the control voltage as stated above