[How do I?] Turbo machining

mxmatt15

Registered
Registered
I am trying to do a hybrid turbo build, reusing the factory turbine housing as my car has a Mazda specific flange and using a large compressor housing and of coarse using a CHRA that can flow more, I am looking to obtain 45lbs/min for my power goals. Then ofcoarse I would have to have the housings machined to allow for the bigger wheels. Being that I have no experience in machining, I am looking for advice on how I should go about doing this, and how I can find a machinist that can do this. For my plans, I plan on still usign a journal bearing housing, as it is rebuildable and cost effective. The current turbo I have is rated at about 35lbs/min, K04 turbo. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

These are the specs of the stock turbo:

Measurements: K04

Compressor Inducer 45.1mm
Compressor Exducer 56.0mm
Turbine Inducer 50.00mm
Turbine Exducer 44.47mm
Shaft journal dimension 6.96mm
Shaft end 4.56mm

And a GT28 for reference for something I would like to get close to

Compressor Inducer 47.21mm
Compressor Exducer 60.00mm
Turbine Inducer 53.80mm
Turbine Exducer 46.82mm
Shaft journal dimension 9.15mm
Shaft end 5.97mm

To be short about it sketch up a print along with the type of material and we can better assist your goals.