Trueing Bridgeport Mill table

binnaway

Active User
Registered
Has anyone used a flycutter to clean and true up Bridgeport mill table???

Garry

That is not advised as the table dovetails are no doubt worn and top of knee is worn, as the table move from left to right it rocks and the top of table will get high and ends apear low. Get a staright edge and lay on top and see how much the tabele is bent. Also the tablle top is peaned and stretched where the tee slots have been stretched over the years. I am late for work and will write more later. I am a professional machine rebuilder and have repaired and rebuilt thousands of Bridgeports in my career and can help later. Rich

I aggree with Richard. For the most part our shop machines are my living. Id say being affordable, be
prepaired for atleast something not 100%. So, myself Id just work around it. Seeing a high percentage
of milling is done with a vise. Me Id just shim and tram the vise. And then it was not stated what the
actual problem is. Cosmetics? has scratches and drill marks? Not flat? Maybe not correctly trammed?
No clue, we can get a better handle on this > what is the actual problem. Richard is the machine M.D.
just like a vet. doctor, the patients dont speak.
sam; not a wise guy just trying to help.........

I am just trying to clean up some milling and drilling marks, I will ckeck with straight and dial indicator edge as Richard said. Just as easiy to live with the marks and make sure that the vise is spot on.

Will check over the next few days, many thanks for the advice.

Garry

I am just trying to clean up some milling and drilling marks, I will ckeck with straight and dial indicator edge as Richard said. Just as easiy to live with the marks and make sure that the vise is spot on.

Garry

If that's the only reason, I would suggest just leaving it be. Consider any table top damage as part of machining.