Transporting a Boyar and Shultz 612-H

mx6er2587

Registered
Registered
Hello all. I've been fortunate enough to just win an auction for a lovely looking b&s 6x12 surface grinder. Appears to have a hydraulic feed? I'm going to pick it up next week and have been struggling to find any moving instructions for these machines. Is there anything that should be removed before bouncing down the highway? Fluid drained? Any specific lift points that are preferred? Thanks for helping out a complete newbie in this area.

You can probably find the a manual on www.vintagemachinery.org
They will have the suggested tie down-transport-lifting methods.
My Brown and Sharpe 6X18 is a heavy SG.
You are not supposed to strap across the table. It can cause damage.
Congratulations.

Nice looking unit, congratulations. Would love to find something like that out here.

Here is the link to the manual Jeff suggested above. http://www.vintagemachinery.org/pubs/detail.aspx?id=4860

Here is the section regarding handling. It would appear as though there are studs used for lifting. Those would be your tie down points as well.

1604678906418.png

You may wish to separate the hydraulic unit from the surface grinder before .
There are lift points (lifting studs) on the sides of the base.
The unit is not heavy, unless you have the cast iron base
You may wish to remove and invert the table for travel if the chuck is not installed.
If the chuck is present, it may be easier to transport with the table installed, just realize that the table will need to be lashed down to prevent movement.
a point to consider is to avoid putting pressure on the ends of the table to avoid deformation.

Congratulations on the new acquisition!

You may wish to separate the hydraulic unit from the surface grinder before .
There are lift points (lifting studs) on the sides of the base.
The unit is not heavy, unless you have the cast iron base
You may wish to remove and invert the table for travel if the chuck is not installed.