Tramming a Harbor Freight mini mill

maddthom

Registered
Registered
I am brand new to hobbyist machining, I've bought a Harbor Freight mini mill and a Morphron 7 x 14 mini lathe, I didn't have the money to buy anything better. A machinist gifted me a Mitutuyo dial test indicator to measure and loaned me a Brown & Sharpe test indicator, I have a couple of questions I hope someone can help me with tramming or squareness, and if I'm posting them in the right forum.

1. the mini mill, the head is not square to the column, I've gotten the column square to the bed(I think, see question 2) but do I need to shim the head? or does it matter that the head is canted about .02" / .5mm (I'm an American but its easier for me to use the metric system than fractions, the Mitutuyo is metric)

2. I think I've gotten the column square to the bed BUT when I turn the beds Y axis the needle on my indicator moves, to me it seems like the bed is tilting, also when I measure along the X axis I get different measurements from front to back, again its seems to me that bed between the T-slots isn't level/height or I'm I doing something wrong?

3. I understand that I have the cheapest machines but what kind of accuracy should I expect? Just adding a little context, I've taken both of my machines apart trying to get them completely square or am I trying to do something that is not possible?

4. I've looked but I haven't found a guide to tramming a mini mill or lathe, is there one? If someone knows were I could find one please give me a link, thanks

If anyone could help me I would greatly appreciate it, if any one has any tips, advice or links to tutorials I would love to hear it but thanks to anyone trying to answer my questions.

Last edited:
Maddthom,

Please forgive my manners. I see this is post number One for you; I was remiss in offering a welcome to the forum.
Do give a thought of going to the "INTRODUCE YOURSELF & WELCOME NEW MEMBERS" forum