Tools for a beginner

Camnefdt

Registered
Registered
Hi all

I recently got my very first lathe and am starting to look at buying some tooling for it.

I am looking more towards insert tool holders mostly because I dont have and cant get a bench grinder to make my own cutting tools currently.

Is there any way to grind or shape hss tools by hand?

And will insert tool holder type tooling be fine for an absolute beginner?

I would not want to try shaping HSS without a grinder. A file will skip off the metal. In the US small grinding wheels are available for hand held rotary tools such as a Dremel (brand name). I use such a tool with small cut off disc to cut a piece of HSS into two. I could imagine some of my Dremel small diamond grinding wheels working to shape a piece of HSS. I am not sure how well I would go getting consistent angles.

I do not know what tooling is readily available in South Africa. Carbide insert tooling works well. I have a number of such tools and different inserts. Some for normal machining and some for threading. The inserts may be more expensive in South Africa.

In the US a less expensive option is brazed carbide tools. A piece of carbide is brazed onto a piece of steel. The downside is that the tool is either discarded when dull, or you need special wheels for a grinder to sharpen.

I would not want to try shaping HSS without a grinder. A file will skip off the metal. In the US small grinding wheels are available for hand held rotary tools such as a Dremel (brand name). I use such a tool with small cut off disc to cut a piece of HSS into two. I could imagine some of my Dremel small diamond grinding wheels working to shape a piece of HSS. I am not sure how well I would go getting consistent angles.