Tool Holder Hotel

Tolerent

Registered
Registered
How many QCTP Holders is enough and what should I consider doing to keep them out of the way and easy to find and manage?

Given the resources and space would having:
  • One set dedicated to holding replaceable carbide tools for hard metals.
  • One set dedicated to holding replaceable carbide tools for soft metals.
  • One set dedicated to holding shop ground HSS tools.
So my questions seem to be:
  • How many holders in each set? (inside and outside turning, threading, ???)
  • Which general purpose holders to use as default holders? (250-201 or 250-201)
  • How to keep a plethora of holders with sharp edges from hiding when I need them and cutting what I don't want cut?
I am new to precision machining so anticipating a steep learning curve. in my previous life precision with my own work was seldom measured in anything finer than 32nds and that because I am a perfectionist. My lathe should arrive in a few weeks. It has a BXA tool post and comes with a few 250-201 and 250-202 tool posts. There are also parting, knurling, and boring tool holders but in my current perception those are peripheral to the matter at hand.

What do you all reccomend?

Also as a side note do you generally kiss the edge of a new carbide insert with a diamond lapping stone before putting it into use or use as received?

I'm far from an expert, but I have nine holders and I expect to add more shop-made holders.
I have eight dedicated holders for carbide and HSS
  • Facing, turning and threading both HSS and carbide (6 holders total)
  • Boring carbide only (1 holder)
  • Parting HSS only at this point. (1 holder)

Given a starting point with a few flat bottom (201 type) holders and a few with the v groove (202 type) bottom would you add some of each going forward or prefer the flat bottom over the grooved style when you did not know you would be mounting a round rod in the holder?