Tight Worm on Rotary Table

Damn Yankee

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hi Folks,

As you can see, I am a Newb on this forum and in machine tools as a dedicated hobby. I recently purchased a milling machine and virtually every accessory I could think of (back to that later). As this is a learning experience, some accessories were cheap Asian tools that could be replaced with experience. I purchased a Vevor 8" Rotary Table - a doppelganger (by sight) of a Vertex. I paid $185 for it, including shipping, so no harm no foul. It arrived quickly via FedEx with every corner of the box mushed, but not badly. Upon removing the table, it was clear the worst mushed corner was where the worm hand wheel was and it was evident it had the most shock as the Styrofoam was discolored under the wheel and cracked adjacent to it, along the table's length.

I removed it and wiped it clean of the shipping lube. It really looked quite nice - until I tried to turn the handle. It turns but takes everything one has to do so. In the release position, the table turns freely. I contacted Vevor, and after a couple email and photo exchanges they refunded my full purchase price; I kept the boat anchor. This morning, I took it apart. I could not get the eccentric containing the worm out of the casting. The worm would not slide in the eccentric and the inner thrust bearing prevented removal from the casting. I ultimately used a dead-blow on the worm to remove it in two parts,

Though the two bearing surfaces of the worm mic-out the same, the most inner (closest to the worm) thrust bearing race will take a puller to remove it without distorting it for I can only coax it down so far with a pry bar. That is a head scratch as the rest of the bearing slipped right off. There is no visible damage to the hand wheel nor any part of the table assy.