TIG aluminum -- how much does machine quality matter to a beginner?

j-becker

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
I am a hobbyist and thinking about getting into AC TIG for welding aluminum on some upcoming projects. I already own a MIG machine (Miller 215) for several years and have used this for steel fabrication. I did get a few weeks of TIG instruction on welding stainless steel during an internship several decades ago so I have an idea that the learning curve is steep (I assume I have to start over). I don't want to shell out top dollar and have been looking at the Hobbyist Primeweld/AHP vs. pro-level HTP Invertig 221 machines (the HTP is considerably more, of course). The HTP is clearly the much nicer pro-level machine and certainly not required for what I am doing. At least for people who already can TIG weld (my observation is that the better you are, the more you may be able to compensate for sub-optimal tools -- but when you start out good tools can help you by taking out some unwanted variation).

Here are my questions: does investing into a higher level machine like the HTP make getting into TIG easier than for example a Primeweld/AHP? Does the "better arc quality" (or low-amp / arc-start / ... capability) that some HTP users highlight make a difference or is it something merely an experienced welder would notice? Can a higher quality machine shorten my learning curve meaningfully?

There are others that are far more experienced than myself on this subforum that will advise you. If you think you will want to weld "thin small stuff" a better machine is for you. Low amp control is important for the little stuff. If you are only welding thicker stuff, it might not matter as much.