[How-To] Tapping Aluminum (M3x0.5)

MyLilMule

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am working on a bracket to hold the DRO reader head for my mill. I need to tap these two holes M3 x 0.5. I don't have metric drills, so I used a #40 drill (closest I had) but my taps I have are just junk.

I need to find a decent and appropriate M3x0.5 tap and a tap handle that will actually hold it. Any recommendations and any tips you can give to help me along the way?

This is my first time machining aluminum. TIA.

IMG_6888.jpg

I am working on a bracket to hold the DRO reader head for my mill. I need to tap these two holes M3 x 0.5. I don't have metric drills, so I used a #40 drill (closest I had) but my taps I have are just junk.

I need to find a decent and appropriate M3x0.5 tap and a tap handle that will actually hold it. Any recommendations and any tips you can give to help me along the way?

This is my first time machining aluminum. TIA.

View attachment 402424
Since you seem to buy from McMaster, you can get a decent M3 tap for less than $9. I'd buy a tap handle elsewhere. I'd use a small Starrett 93A. I have never had them slip. I'm sure there are other decent tap handles, but I don't know of them.

Another piece of advice is to use a tap follower in your mill.
51FjT3TjS9L._SL1478_.jpg
Line up the mill to the hole. Install tap follower and install spring loaded point into the dimple in the Starrett. Your tap will now be centered in the hole. Use WD40 for a tapping fluid. Turn some, reverse the motion to break the chip, repeat until done. Lower the mill head to keep spring pressure on the tap holder. If the tap seems to get tighter, it's time to back off to break the chip. These little taps are easy to break, especially in aluminum, and doubly especially if you don't use the tap guide. Hope this helps.