Surface Plate Questions

lpeedin

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I just received a 10"x12"x2" granite surface plate from Grizzly. This might be a dumb question, but is there a preferred side to use or are both sides ground to the specifications? Also, any tips you'd like to share on maintenance, cleaning, etc?

One face should be lapped smooth, the other probably shows saw marks.

Gene

In the Grizzly catalog it states that it has a “bilateral accuracy”. So, maybe both sides are good for use as a surface plate?...Good Luck, Dave.

In the Grizzly catalog it states that it has a “bilateral accuracy”. So, maybe both sides are good for use as a surface plate?...Good Luck, Dave.
Dave,
I actually bought this through Amazon, but it was in a Grizzly wood box. Hadn't thought to look at Grizzly's specs - thanks,

Tips....clean with ammonia....use three point mounting/setting. Keep top covered when not in use.
Hi, I am new to machining in general, I would like to ask you some questions on Granite items.
What would one use a granite surface plate for? I see in a local tool catalogue that they sell "V" blocks and parallels made from granite. I thought that granite was a Brittle stone that was prone to easily breaking?

Regards Basil

Granite is also inherently stable, non-magnetic, has excellent vibration dampening characteristics, and will not rust.

That's just one line from a wikipedia page on surface plates. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surface_plate

It's interesting reading. Check it out.

Hi, I am new to machining in general, I would like to ask you some questions on Granite items.
What would one use a granite surface plate for? I see in a local tool catalogue that they sell "V" blocks and parallels made from granite. I thought that granite was a Brittle stone that was prone to easily breaking?

Regards Basil