Spindle replacement to 1 3/8

Agman101

Registered
Registered
Greetings, Total newbie here to the codified processes of machining, grew up on farm with stick welders, wire welders, drill presses, chop saws, band saws general shop wood, metal, .....anyway always wanted a metal lathe and finally found one , '29 or '30 SB 86C 13 x 60, ways in beautiful shape, all the bells and whistles except for taper attachment. One problem it has a 1" spindle and I need 1 3/8", anybody ever do this kind of replacement? Problems, pitfalls, good bad, ugly? PO was a retired machinist from Grumman(now) Aerospace, extremely detail oriented, clean, machine is immaculate and I don't want to ruin it Thanks for any input

To my knowledge this can not be done reasonably. You'd be better off getting a different lathe. There is no easy conversion. the 16" is the one with 1-3/8 hole in the spindle. Even the 15" only had 1-1/8" pass through.

Larger bore would require larger ID spindle bearings without increasing the bearing OD. Not practical if even possible.
Heavy 10L has 1-3/8 through to accommodate 5c draw tube.

I see a 13" spindle on ebay listing that says it has a 1 3/8 thru hole!

Disclaimer: not sure it is compatible

If I were to attempt this and wasn't familiar with the spindle I would read up on the South Bend Bulletin H4 "Keep Your Lathe In Trim" booklet.
There is a PDF download site that will have it. IIRC Vintage machinery something something...
There are sections in it for testing and adjusting the bearing tolerances.
I would do this on the machine as it sits now and record all your numbers for reference.