Slitting Saw Woes

HBilly1022

Registered
Registered
I bought a cheap chinese cutter from Busy Bee tools for an upcoming project. I have never used one before so I figured I should do a test run and did a little reading about using one. I found a suggested method for an initial cutting sequence, in one of Harold Hall's books. The suggested cut was to take a 1mm depth of cut feeling and listening for any issues, then a second 1 mm cut and after that go to 2 mm. I didn't make it through the first 2" of 1mm deep cut in mild steel before it was obvious this thing was very dull and not going to work.

The saw is an HSS, 2 1/2" x 1/16" x 28 tooth blade. The blade is flat and there doesn't appear to be any rake (set) on the teeth. I ran it at 120 rpm using an arbor I made specifically for it. The blade didn't feel sharp before I started and is definitely dull now. I can see the wear on the sides of the teeth (both sides). It even felt dull on the outside edges of the teeth before starting.

Am I using the wrong tooth count, is this the wrong application for this blade or is there something else I need to be aware of?

Sorry, but I believe you answered your question in your first sentence with “cheap Chinese cutter”. I have seen them look like they were just stamped teeth and not cut/ground out. They were worthless….sorry.

HB can you give us a bit more info on what your application is. and how fast your are running the cutter. Dimensions of the work piece could help. 28 teeth could be coarse depending on the workpiece.

David

A slitting saw should be used to full depth where possible, not light passes. Maybe not your main issue, but it is one of them... You also must calculate the RPM of the cutter using the surface feet per minute (SFPM) of the wheel diameter to set the spindle rpm, and also calculate chip load per tooth to determine a reasonable feed rate. No cutter will survive a bunch of rubbing, a speed that will burn it up, or a too light or too aggressive feed.