Sizing of tooling and tooling up a lathe

Wallied

Registered
Registered
Hello all. I'm a beginner from Finland getting into turning. For a few years now I've been making projects (mostly guitar related) on hand tools and a Ooznest/Openbuilds Workbee CNC (750x1000x~70 / 30x40x3)router, mostly wood, but some small brass and aluminum parts as well. No hiccups there, partly due to my background in mechanical engineering, so I'm familiar with the CAD and CNC side of things in particular.

Skip to this summer, I started renovating my grandparents old house from the 50s, with the intent to move there before Christmas. My grandfather was an electrician and a metalworker by trade, working at a large paper mill. During his time there, and after retiring, he brought a lot of tools and equipment from there to his home.

After his passing, I've now come to possession of a plethora of equipment, largely welding and sheetmetal (gas, MIG/MAG, stick welders, gas torches, large shears and a shop-made sheet metal bender with a capacity of approx. 2 m /6ft...)

The most interesting item for me, though, is his engine lathe, a 1961 make Zbrojovka/TOS SV-18R (http://www.lathes.co.uk/zbrojovka/), a 7.5" center height, 50" length between centers beast with a 8hp motor giving speeds from 14 to 2800 rpm. The 2000kg/4400lbs lathe was, according to my father, brought in the basement by making a hole in the foundation wall, building a track of railroad beams, and bringing it inside, mounting it on top of a ~4in concrete slab cast on top of the basement floor.

1668759691756.jpg