Short Term, Budget Friendly, 3 Phase Options

MyLilMule

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have a Series 1, 2HP Bridgeport with a variable speed head on which I am just beginning the restoration.

I currently do not have 3 phase power in my workshop. The plan WAS to get a 5HP rotary phase converter from American Rotary (my preferred manufacturer). However, I am looking for some possible short term, more budget friendly alternatives.

Reason being, I do not want to invest $800 in a phase converter, to find that in a year, I add a 5HP lathe to the mix and end up needing a bigger phase converter. So to bide my time until I make that decision one way or another, I want to find if there are any alternatives that are MUCH less expensive.

I'm open to ideas that will let me run the mill, even at reduced HP, for the short term (1 year) until I have either decided against adding a bigger lathe or not, at which time, I'll get an appropriately sized RPC.

If the answer is "no" then I'll bit the bullet and get the American Rotary unit.

Would you ever be running the mill and lathe at the same time? I personally never have with my machines... If not, I'd just get a phase converter that meets the needs of the highest HP machine you expect to have and use it for both.

Static Phase Converter.

Like you, I bought one to fill the gap until I got my 7.5 hp rotary. Once I got my RPC, I quickly grew tired of the whine. Then my wife saw the electric bill. The RPC is in mothballs and I've been using the SPC ever since.

edit: Anyone want to buy a 7.5 hp RPC?

Last edited:
I picked up a rotary phase converter on facebook market place. I don't do face book, but my neighbor keeps an eye out for equipment for me.
It's a cedarburg. I paid $75, no capacitors.. for my surface grinder it's been great.

Now, I am not saying go out and buy new, it is $950 new.

but since you are restoring, look around you have time... and maybe the machinist gods will be friendly to you.