Sharpening Milling bits

WDG

Registered
Registered
Does anyone sharpen milling bits? I'm looking into buying a machine to sharpen mill bits but they're expensive and I have no experience. I don't know if there would be enough business to pay for the machine and to make some money and I don't which machine would be the best to buy. I think I"m getting in over my head as money is tight and I don't need any lessons on how to become poorer. I would like to make a little extra money though.

I have a Monaset http://www.cinmac.com/CutterToolGrinder/Monaset.html

With eBay pricing, you can't begin to re sharp endmills. I own the machine and don't even bother. Grinding is an extremely slow process. An exception here would be to just re sharp the end of the endmill. This can be done on a surface grinder with 5C collet fixture.

Now, if you need custom cutters, a tool and cutter grinder is the only way to go. T&C grinders go cheap used, industry don't use them anymore, not much hobby demand.

My 2 cents

$_12.JPG There was a fixture similar to the one shown to the left that was mounted on an angle plate and used on a surface grinder with a cup wheel. The angle plate had notches on the locking bar for angles needed and the fixture had an air bearing instead of the beads. We used to grind the sides of end mills or teeth of cutters in about 5 minutes tops. The bottoms were done in a different machine though.

Last edited by a moderator:
I wish I had the right machines to do work like that. But unfortunitely being on a fixed income that won't happen. I have the know how, just not good enough equipment. I miss the days when I had a whole shop at my disposal.
You do good work Billy.