Setting Up A Dividing Head Question?

GarageGuy

Active User
Registered
I have a L-W dividing head that looks identical to the one Nels has. It's my first attempt to cut a spur gear, and I've gone through everything very carefully to make sure there are no mistakes. The gear I'm cutting is made of cast iron and will have 37 teeth, and I have a dividing plate with 37 holes in it.

The question: Because my dividing head has a 40:1 ratio, I should turn the crank less than one full turn to advance to the next tooth? Or, because I have a 37 hole plate, do I just do a full turn?

Up to now all my measurements have been careful and correct. The perfect gear blank, centering the cutter, depth of cut, etc. The more I thought about this, the more I confused myself. I just want to make sure I don't make scrap iron.

Thank you!

GG

Hi Garageguy
Please doublecheck my advise before cutting as i confuse myself at times. If you have a 40:1 ratio it means that you need to devide 40 by the nr of devisions you need to make.
Thus 40/37 = 1.08108108 turns per devision.
So now you know its one full turn plus a number of holes representing 0.08108108 tuns.
Now you take 0.08108108 and you multiply it by all the nr of holes you have on you different plates.
Once you find a whole nr or something very close to one you get the correct plate and the nr of holes you need.
For example i took 0,08108108 and multiplied it by 37 and got 3. Thus it means that you have to take 1 full turn and 3 holes on the 37 hole plate , per tooth

That makes perfect sense. As you advised, I'll wait and hopefully someone will corroborate, then I'll go to work. If my first gear actually works, I will be very impressed.

Thank you very much!

GG

40 divided by 37 = 1 full turn and 3/37 or one full turn and 3 holes in a 37 hole plate.
Machinist handbook is your friend.
Please show some pics of your form tool and setup