Searching for a lathe

slingshot

Active User
Registered
Hello everyone I have been looking at buying a new lathe been trying to decide between a Birmingham Grizzly or PM in the 12X36 class.I have very little experience with lathes so it's going to be a learning experience. I want to do a little gunsmith work and other odd and inns around the shop.Does anybody have any suggestions on which lathe is possible the most accurate and has the most features for the price? Thanks.

Hello everyone I have been looking at buying a new lathe been trying to decide between a Birmingham Grizzly or PM in the 12X36 class.I have very little experience with lathes so it's going to be a learning experience. I want to do a little gunsmith work and other odd and inns around the shop.Does anybody have any suggestions on which lathe is possible the most accurate and has the most features for the price? Thanks.

I have no experience with the Birmingham or Grizzly, but I did look them and others over before I decided on the PM1236. If you want to check out my dealings with
it so far go HERE.

I'm happy with it so far as well as other people here.

Gary

Second vote for the PM 1236. When I was shopping for a lathe a couple years ago, I searched high and low for both new and used. In used equipment, I couldn't find what I was looking for. I studied every new lathe with a fine tooth comb and settled on the 1236.