SBL Model A some questions

Buy a copy of “how to run a Lathe”by South Bend Lathes.
you can find a reprint cheap, or maybe read it online.
but buy the hard copy.
I have always used the piston QCTP, the lathes I used when I did this for a living all seemed to be equipped with that style.
so when I bought one for my SB9, I bought the piston style in AXA, either wedge or piston will work fine for you.
i still use the lantern style when doing small threading or using my scissors knurler.

Buy a copy of “how to run a Lathe”by South Bend Lathes.

That is dull reading, but a VERY good jumping off point. I highly second that recommendation.

i still use the lantern style when doing small threading or using my scissors knurler.

Can you still get a scissor knurling tool for a rocker that size? I've looked off and on, but came up with just about nothing.

Yes, the mounting shaft is 5/8“ high X 3/8” wide.
I’ve also used it in my AXA toolholders.

Attachments

• A87C5701-4FF5-4D71-8BDA-2063B7401372.jpeg
    A87C5701-4FF5-4D71-8BDA-2063B7401372.jpeg
    426.6 KB · Views: 15
No worries, my version of hot-rodding usually entails buying and installing really cool accessories, not altering the basic operation in any way.

Today the lathe was partially disassembled: head and tail stocks, apron removed, carriage removed. Was careful to take photos and bag/ID all fasteners and gears. All went well despite reservations. Watched some online videos and also have a copy of A Guide to Renovating the South Bend Lathe. I brought home everything but the ways/frame and the cabinet w/motor. Need some additional help and my trailer for those. Everything internally looked very good, but all needs a kerosene scrub. I don't know what the QC gearbox internals look like yet, fingers crossed.

This lathe comes with the steady rest and the collets-drawbar setup for the headstock - although the collet headstock adapter may not be present.