SBL Model A some questions

MrEarl

Registered
Registered
Hello, this is my 1st post on this site, hoping for some help on my new-to-me SBL Model 9A. It's in very good to excellent condition from what I can tell (haven't brought it home yet). For some background, I am a hobbyist with virtually no experience with machine tools. Here are a few of my questions:

- The serial number ends in an X, which South Bend says means that the spindle and swing type is "Special". Not sure how to interpret that.
- I have to move this lathe to my house. Can I sling up the lathe, separated from the cabinet (it's and under drive type), just in front of the headstock? Maybe balance the load by moving the carriage and tail stock?
- The motor is single phase, so must have been swapped in at some point. Are there significant benefits to replacing it with a 3-phase motor and phase converter?
- It has the lantern-type tool holder. I have the wants for a quick-change holder but since I'm a novice I'm guessing that's premature? I've found wedge-type and piston-type QC holders, what do these terms mean?

Thanks for any info.

I have a SB 9A (and a 9C with underneath drive). I am also 7 hours ahead of you in UK, and not supposed to be up at this hour, so I can't really give a great answer right now, but I will come back to it.

We have a lot of stuff on the site about South Bend serial numbers and dates, which I can get to later
Move it by "divide and conquer". Do not be afraid to unbolt the tailstock, and headstock, and motor assembly, all into separate pieces. The headstock weighs around 40 pounds. It makes a difference when you are trying to pick it up. I even took off the carriage cross slide, and found I could heft the lathe bed as a separate item. You can put a sling under the bed at each end, or sling the entire stand with it on, but don't hang a sling under the spindle with a chuck on.