Router Turned Grinder - Question(s)

graham-xrf

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Perhaps this YouTube video has been discussed here before, but I am new to this.

From the beginning, what I see is various G-Clamps and parts of cross-slide in an adventurous arrangement.
The grind seems to be a back-and forth move with no obvious spark-out. He just reverses direction at the headstock end. No advance on the grind depth, no diamond true on the wheel, and at one stage, checking out the surface, and what I see is not quite a finish ground surface..

The main thing, for me, is not understanding what surface he is using to guide the whole thing.
Beyond what I learned in school, I know very little about what to do with lathe ways, but my instincts tell me that the original unworn surfaces have alignments that are precious things. These are to be cut away to get below the worn parts.

I am not sure what we see done is a novel low cost trick to fix up a lathe way, or a real bad idea!
Can anyone help decode what is going on?

Your suspicions are correct, Graham. If those ways were not unusable before, they are now. I suppose if you had a clapped out old lathe and wanted to sell it for more money, you might be able to pass it off as having "freshly ground ways" by using this technique. I would hope that the surface finish being achieved there, with the chatter, dwell grooves, and lengthwise grooves from not dressing the wheel, would be noticed by most potential buyers. The video does give us another new twist on "caveat emptor" for lathe buyers...

In reality, this is just a new twist on an old scam of "completely scraped and restored machine", where, yes, a scraper was used to decorate the surfaces, but not to restore the geometry and flatness of them. That, and a fresh coat of paint, turns a sows ear into a silk purse...

Last edited: